OFF THE MAP

Following Jesus wherever He may lead…

Rick Botelho – Finished Well

Leave a comment

SCRIPTURE: But my life is worth nothing to me unless I use it for finishing the work assigned me by the Lord Jesus—the work of telling others the Good News about the wonderful grace of God.” (Acts 20:24 NLT)

OBSERVATION: Paul was a man of purpose & passion. He knew that the course God was leading him on was one of great trials & yet he encouraged himself by the meaning of his life. Paul knew that Jesus had called him to communicate the good news of the gospel. Paul had encountered Jesus while leading the efforts to destroy Christianity. Jesus literally showed up & changed his life in an instant, giving Saul a new name, Paul, to communicate Gods word to people. Now Paul was passing the baton to the church elders acknowledging the beginning of the last lap in his race of life. He was laser-focused to finish well!

APPLICATION:My friend & brother in Christ, Rick Botelho, passed away early Sunday morning. I received a phone call from his wife Racie, that he was ready to go home. Cancer had spread & he knew it was his time to finish this race & begin eternity in heaven. While I was finishing speaking my message @ church, Jennifer had taken a picture on her cell phone & sent it to Racie sending our love & support. Seconds later Racie Called back and told Jennifer the news that Rick had passed away hours earlier. Rick had finished his race and finished well.

It’s difficult to see a friend go. Tears & sadness swell up…but soon rises up the reality that Heaven is for real & we will see our loved ones again when we too cross our finish line. This week is emotional for me. I’ve been thinking through the chapters of my life in such a way that I can say in confidence that I’m living my life as I’ve been created to do. Just like Paul, Rick & I have received the call to be bible communicators. Rick finished the race as a husband, father, pastor & friend. Well done my friend…

PRAYER: Lord Jesus, may You encourage many through Rick’s legacy. May You continue to bless many through the life that Rick lived for You. </

Rick giving the toast @ our vow renewal in Hawaii. He always knew how to make us laugh!

20130213-084716.jpg

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 119 other followers